Please Sign in to see price
Configuration:LP Excl
Last in:20.02.2024
+ Show full info- Close
Last in:20.02.2024
Configuration:LP Excl
LP - Territory: WW Minus UK/Eire,Usa, Canada

- Limited Edition (300 copies worldwide)
- Transparent ´Clear’ vinyl
- Printed on heavyweight reverse board outer sleeve
- Double sided printed vinyl insert featuring illustrations by Blue Lake
- Vinyl comes in black poly-lined protective bag
- Housed in a heavyweight PVC protective outer sleeve
- Hype front sticker
- Vinyl pressed at Optimal media GmbH
- Printed at Delga in the UK

GENRE/S: Ambient / Experimental / Alternative / Jazz


Side A
01. Dallas
02. Green-Yellow Field
03. Bloom
04. Rain Cycle
Side B
01. Writing
02. Fur
03. Sun Arcs
04. Wavelength


Weaving between self-built zithers, drones, clarinets, slide guitars and drum machines, ‘Sun Arcs’ is a beautifully
unique sound offering with inventive, free spirited and DIY sensibility.

Blue Lake is the musical moniker of American born, Copenhagen based multidisciplinary artist and musician
Jason Dungan, who signs to the Tonal Union imprint for the release of his new longform album ‘Sun Arcs’. It
follows 2022’s release ‘Stikling’, earning a nomination for ‘Album of the Year’ at the Danish Music Awards plus
warm praise from The Hum blog and musicians and DJs alike including Jack Rollo (Time is Away/NTS) and Carla
dal Forno. A self taught player, Dungan began freely experimenting with self-built multi-string instruments,
preferring to build his own hybrid 48-string zither and working in the realms of left-field ambient music, off kilter
folk and improvised acoustic minimalism.

Musically it portrays a form of double life led by an American-identifying person living in Scandinavia, and a new
found presence in Denmark, seeking out underdeveloped marshlands and barren stretches of beach adrift from
other rhythms and distractions. Highlighting their individual and potent importance Dungan concludes: “Both
places feel like “me”, I think on some level the music is always some kind of self-portrait.” ‘Sun Arcs’ depicts
the intricate balance of nature’s cycles and the paths outlined by the seasons, from a winter dormancy to a warm
sun drenched scene. The album scales new glorying heights and further defines Dungan’s musical narrative,
inhabiting a unique space in left-field, improvised and experimental music, borning his most accomplished
compositions to date. A singular and visionary expression, drawing on an array of instruments and sound worlds
with a renewed sense of joy and discovery.

The album's rich tapestry was mixed by Jeff Zeigler (Laraaji, Mary Lattimore, Kurt Vile / Steve Gunn) and mastered
by Stephan Mathieu (Kali Malone, KMRU, Félicia Atkinson). More